Today’s interesting phone call: “My Last pet sitter cost $20 per day”. Great! Where are they?

Oh, they aren’t pet sitting anymore?

Would you like to guess why? You can’t live on $20 per day. They undervalued their time and their service – and had to either raise their price or get a “regular” job. Since most pet sitting requests are for services between 7:am and 6:pm, it’s nearly impossible to hold down a “regular” job and pet -sit. So they have to choose.

At least 3 times a year, I get calls from prospective clients that say my prices are too high. Without fail, at least 2 of those 3 call me back, because the “other” pet sitter didn’t work out. By then, sometimes I’m available. Sometimes I’m not.

Either way, unfortunately for this caller, I already know my worth. I also know I love pet sitting and this is what I want to do. In order to do that, I must charge a rate I can live with.

Leave a Reply

